WHERE WE ARE

State and international offices


ALABAMA

Amy Floyd
PAT State Lead
Alabama Department of Early Childhood Education
334-353-2700
amy.floyd@ece.alabama.gov

 

ALASKA

Debi Baldwin
Child Development Director
Rural Alaska Community Action Program
907-865-7317
dbaldwin@ruralcap.com

 

ARKANSAS

Wanda Comey
PAT State Manager
Arkansas Children's Hospital, Inc.
Arkansas Home Visiting Network
501-364-5452
corneywf@archildrens.org

 

COLORADO

Heather Tritten                
Executive Director            
Parent Possible                
303-860-6000                
heather@parentpossible.org

Michele Provost
PAT Program Director
Parent Possible
303-860-6000
michele@parentpossible.org

        

CONNECTICUT

Pam Langer
PAT State Leader
ConnPAT
860-738-8375
connpat.langer1@gmail.com


DELAWARE

Carmen Gallagher                    
Education Associate for Quality Assurance Delaware Department of Education            
302-735-4295                        
carmen.gallagher@doe.k12.de.us

Christine Stoops
Delaware State Leader
Delaware Department of Education
302-670-9448
crstoops@comcast.net


FLORIDA

Georgina Rivera
Program Director
Champions for Children
813-673-4646  Ext. 1145
grivera@cfctb.org

 

GEORGIA

Sara Jane Blackman
Georgia PAT State Lead
University of Georgia/Georgia Parents as Teachers
706-202-3273
sjblackman@bellsouth.net

 

GERMANY

Carmen Drinkmann
Program Management
Mit Eltern Lernen
49 911 3766857-0
carmen.drinkmann@pat-mitelternlernen.org

 

ILLINOIS

Barb Terhall                        
PAT Illinois State Leader/Training Manager
Ounce of Prevention                    
312-348-4004                        
bterhall@ounceofprevention.org

Penny Smith
Early Childhood Principal Consultant
Illinois State Board of Education
217-524-4835
pesmith@isbe.net


IOWA

Patricia (PJ) West
MIECHV Program Manager/Community Health Consultant
Iowa Department of Public Health
515-229-9976
pj.west@idph.iowa.gov


KANSAS

Nis Wilbur
Education Program Consultant
Kansas State Department of Education
785-296-4964
swilbur@ksde.org

 

MAINE

Pam LaHaye
Maine Families State Coordinator
Maines Families Home Visiting Program
207-623-5120
plahaye@mainefamilies.org

 

MISSOURI

JoAnne Ralston
Coordinator, Early Learning
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
573-571-0397
joanne.ralston@dese.mo.gov


NEW JERSEY

Jessica Nugent                        
Director of Home Visiting                
Prevent Child Abuse – New Jersey Chapter, Inc.        
732-246-8060  Ext. 106                    
jnugent@preventchildabusenj.org

Eva Szmutko
Program Coordinator
Prevent Child Abuse – New Jersey Chapter, Inc.
732-246-8060  Ext. 114
eszmutko@preventchildabusenj.org


PENNSYLVANIA

Karen Shanoski
Partnerships Project Manager
Centers for Schools and Communities/ Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit
717-763-1661  Ext. 139
kshanoski@csc.csiu.org


RHODE ISLAND

Sidra Scharff
Implementation Specialist
The Office of Family Visiting
Rhode Island Department of Health
401-222-5934
sidra.scharff@health.ri.gov


SOUTH CAROLINA

Mary Anne Mathews
Director of Parenting Programs
South Carolina First Steps
803-734-0397
mmathews@scfirststeps.org


TEXAS

Elaine Shiver
Program Director
Texas Parents as Teachers
214-363-8661
txpat@txpat.org


UNITED KINGDOM

Pam Holtom
National Development Office
Parents as First Teachers – UK
44 1844 345847
pamholtom@parentsasfirstteachers.org.uk


VIRGINIA 

Lisa Specter-Dunaway            
State Leader                
CHIP of Virginia                
804-783-2667                
lspecter@chipofvirginia.org      

Sheri Parcell
State Leader
CHIP of Virginia
540-951-7476
sparcell@chipofvirginia.org

WEST VIRGINIA

Jackie Newson
Director, West Virginia Home Visitation Project
Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems
Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health
304-356-4408
jackie.j.newson@wv.gov

Susan Jackson
Child Abuse Prevention Specialist
Division of Early Care and Education
Bureau for Children and Families
304-356-4409
susan.m.jackson@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Suzy Rodriguez
Home Visiting National Model Specialist
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, Hele Bader School of Social Welfare
414-964-7320
rodrigsa@uwm.edu


WORLDWIDE

Parents as Teachers' footprint is well established around the world. The Parents as Teachers model is currently being delivered in six countries: Australia, Canada, Germany,  Singapore, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Parents as Teachers' international programs build on the model's firm foundation and also reflect their country's specific needs.

United Kingdom: Known as Parents as First Teachers, PAFT began in Buckinghamshire, England in 1991. A recent program evaluation by the UK's National Academy for Parenting Research concluded PAFT was an important element of the country's home visiting support for at-risk families. Today, there are 55 affiliates in England, Scotland and South Wales.

Germany: Known as PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen, or PAT - Learning With Parents, the model was imported into Nuremberg in 2004. Today, PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen serves families throughout Germany, many of whom are immigrants from other countries. Yearly, over 350 families are served by 29 organizations that have licensed the German PAT program. Parents' satisfaction is high, as 63 percent of the participants learn about the program through word of mouth. Find PAT - Mit Eltern Lernen on Facebook at www.facebook.com/PATmitelternlernen.

Australia: Parents as Teachers in Australia serves 4,000 families, many of whom are high risk or have special needs, through170 programs in urban, regional and remote areas of New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory. Services are delivered in partnership with local health districts, family support organizations and aboriginal programs. Parents as Teachers came to Australia in 1991 and operates through Macquarie University's Children and Families Research Centre.